Melanie:

Next time you are questioning your voice, remember these words. Next time you are questioning your tale, remember these words. Next time you are questioning the effect of speaking out, or if it’s really doing anyone any good, remember these words. Commit them to memory; put them where you will see them, and keep speaking.

Originally posted on :

I’m having trouble today, writing words. When I try to set the words free through my fingers, fear reigns them back in. So, today, I’ll share the words of Audre Lorde until I can gather my own.

Your silences will not protect you…What are the words you do not yet have? What are the tyrannies you swallow day by day and attempt to make your own, until you will sicken and die of them, still in silence? We have been socialized to respect fear more than our own need for language.

Next time, ask: What’s the worst that will happen? Then push yourself a little further than you dare. Once you start to speak, people will yell at you. They will interrupt you, put you down and suggest it’s personal. And the world won’t end.

And the speaking will get easier and easier. And you will find you have discovered…

View original 43 more words

3 thoughts on “

  1. Thank you for sharing that, Melanie. I’m struggling right now with some things that demand to be told. That’s helped me tremendously today.

    • I could think of a bazzion people who could use this today, myself included. I need to pop over and give Sarah a proper thank-you.

speak loudly, donkeys are sleeping

