Kid Scouts of America

I generally tend to shy aware from hot-button social debates like this because it makes me cry when someone calls me stupid for respecting human beings for exercising their free will. I’ve an extra box of tissue here, so let’s go:

Boy Scouts of America (BSA) only wants to work with you to build character, become a responsible adult, and attain physical fitness if you are heterosexual boy. If you are a girl, you may continue unobstructed with the Girl Scouts, even tho it somewhat resembles a don’t-ask-don’t-tell approach, there are no membership policies based specifically on sexual preference. (Wait a second here, what? There’s more equality on the girls’ side? What backwards fool at the BSA let THAT happen?)

There’s this book that the BSA members generally carry around from August to June. It’s called a History Book. In it are stories of times when you could contract leprosy by walking on the same side of the street as an afflicted person; times when peeing on the same toilet as a black person would turn your skin grey and kill you; times when only gay men could get AIDS; and times when women were only capable of being a secretary not Secretary of State.

This Group Hate mentality is futile.

It took only a few seconds for those words, “we’re keeping our policy banning gays,” to go from the mouth of Deron Smith, national spokesperson for the BSA, to the ears of a nation, but in those few seconds thousands of human beings were told they aren’t good enough, and the people telling them this won’t say it to anyone’s face.

Zach Wahls, with LeanForward MSNBC, comments on the Illuminati-like nature of the 2-year decision-making process: “What’s been particularly disappointing to me is the secretive nature surrounding how this conclusion was reached. The very first value of the Scout Law is that a Scout is trustworthy. There is absolutely nothing trustworthy about unelected and unnamed committee members who are unwilling to take responsibility for their actions.”

How do we teach respect when our kids’ leaders hide behind paper hoping the fuel stops dripping on the fire before it cremates their image?

The problem with this policy is the same problem with policies that banned blacks from the front of the bus, women from voting, and gays from the military service…all social policies revoked for being asinine and counterproductive.

Girl Scouts of the USA doesn’t exclude anyone except based on gender, and even that has been waived subjectively in the case of transgender member Bobby Montoya.

There was a group of parents unhappy with the GSUSA support of LGBT concerns, specifically the GSUSA diversity goals and voluntary programs aimed “to change the cultural and political debate on sexual orientation and gender identity challenging both conservative elements of society and mainstream women’s movements.” They formed the American Heritage Girls as a Christian group and alternative for families adamantly against inclusion of any kind. They don’t need to start American Heritage Boys because the BSA is that already.

Is there a group devoted to the advancement of children? CHILDREN! Not boys, not girls, but kids; all kids. Kid Scouts: Homosapiens Only.

7 comments

  1. I think it’s all shit. I’ll keep my son in karate and sign him up for yoga and Tai Chi, two things he’s been asking me about. BSA can go fuck itself! I’m not raising my son to be okay with exclusivity. 😦

    1. Unfortunately I will have little say in what my kids do for activities. Donkey will do whatever he wants and send me the bill for it. Donkey is also very homophobic (altho I think that’s so his father doesn’t learn the truth) so my boy will probably end up in BSA.

      1. Do you think Donkey is gay? Is that what you mean by “so his father doesn’t learn the truth?”

        1. There were signs while we were dating and after we got married. I can’t explain it more than what I saw and what I heard led me to believe I was a shield to present to his family to show he was the latin man his father demanded he be. I just could feel it. I could feel that he had a more intimate connection with Andy than with me. I could feel that Andy was the go-to for his life’s worries. I could feel that come time to choose, he’d let me fall off the cliff long before he let go of Andy’s hand.

      2. And that MUST be a contributing factor for all of his treatment of you and the blame he imposes on others. I’m so tired of people trying to live up to the expectations of others and not their expectations of themselves. One day your son will be able to make his own choices. 🙂

  2. Different person; same suspicion. HUGE suspicion, actually…not that I really care one way or the other.

  3. […] things third, these hot-button issues don’t scare me like they used to because I am now fully aware of the power I hold over the comments. I can delete […]

speak loudly, donkeys are sleeping

