From there to here in 9 days

I’ve been on a cloud for over a week. Nine days ago I left a job I enjoyed to move 550 miles closer to my kids; I packed my belongings into boxes, and my boxes and furniture into a truck. I went out-of-town Sunday night, with everything behind a padlocked truck door, and drove North for 2.5 days of training. I stayed in a hotel and watched the Cardinals beat the Astros, twice.

I left training Wednesday afternoon absolutely exhilarated and convinced I made the right career and life move with this transition. Then I mourned my daughter’s fifth birthday; I was not with her. We skyped and I watched her open her gifts. My son too – he got his very own box with brand new cowboy boots. 

It was heartbreaking, but, honestly, I didn’t spend too much time worrying about it because I was in a tornado of time management. It was all I could think about as I drove the Columbia to St. Louis, MO leg, coming down from training, alone, anticipating our skype time, but it was laughter and smiles as the kids and I had our hour together, and then it was logistics, schedules, and gas mileage.

My dad and cousin left in the moving truck while my mom and I finished my good-byes and the key drop-off. We met up for dinner in Marion, IL, and then drove on to Paducah, KY and spent the night at a hotel. The Cardinals came up short against the Astros.

Thursday we drove from Paducah to Atlanta, GA; I signed the lease and we unloaded the truck, the entire truck, and went out to return the truck and eat dinner; we assembled the beds with what fumes we had left. Crash, everyone, all night without a single stir.

Friday was all the nit-picky nonsense of moving into an apartment that is part of an apartment community, or, shit full of complex papers. We got all the furniture into the right room, the washer and dryer set up, and all the boxes into the right area. I put everyone on a plane and came back to the silent emptiness that is my home. I slept because I was too tired not to.

Saturday morning Donkey sent a text that his father had died, and, after a couple of texts back and forth, I didn’t ask for skype time. Donkey’s dad died. I feel no sadness. I grew to disrespect him thoroughly after I left that family. The protégé’s mentor is no more.

I used my entire day to arrange big pieces exactly where I wanted them, to go to the grocery store and get milk and flowers, and put some books in order on the bookshelf.

14 comments

  1. You sound exhilirated………..reborn even. Good for you. Keep on going.

    1. Thank you. We’ve got to keep going, all of us, toward our better end.

  2. Welcome to Atlanta 🙂 I hope that you can find peace and healing among the dogwoods here. I highly recommend exploring some of the many parks in and around the city during the fall. I wish you the best with settling in and starting the new job!

    1. Thank you. This is my second time living in Atlanta; I gave birth to both my children here. But this is my first chance to experience Atlanta without kids in tow, so I’m looking forward to the peace of the parks and the multitude of eateries. I must admit, tho, I am a bit worried about being in Braves country.

      1. Maybe you’ll learn to love the Braves. I did, but it took 11 years 🙂

        1. lol! 11 years…so in 10 years I need a sabbatical to reaffirm my Cardinals commitment. 🙂

          1. See, now you’re getting it! 🙂 Sorry you had to get this yucky rain and humidity to welcome you…the great fall weather should be here soon!

            1. Hopefully the fall weather will get here right about the same time I unpack the last box.

              1. Hurry up and unpack then! 🙂

    1. Thanks. I’m still surprised I pulled it off.

  3. […] I did mention I was moving for the kids. I mentioned it to my parents. I mentioned it to the kids. I mentioned it to my old boss. I mentioned it to the contact who brought my resume to the attention of the hiring manager. I mentioned, ok I alluded to it during every interview. Of course they asked why I was looking to relocate from St. Louis to Atlanta; I answered, my family is now divided between Missouri and Florida and I would like to be in the middle. I mentioned it here. […]

  4. […] kids were my first priority when I started looking for a new job. I wanted to be closer to them. St. Louis to Palm Coast is 960 […]

  5. […] my time alone I have started a new job, moved to Atlanta, and been to company dinners at country clubs and exclusive restaurants, a Christmas party with an […]

speak loudly, donkeys are sleeping

