Being thankful for things I wouldn’t ordinarily

When there is nothing to be thankful for, I can be thankful for something. Surely. Let’s give this a go and see what we get:

  • I am thankful for quiet weekend mornings and the peace that comes with the slow rise of the sun.
  • I am thankful I can go to the grocery store at 9:30 pm, or immediately after I run out of milk or toilet paper.
  • I am thankful the bruises and cuts on my feet have all healed and there are no Legos or dinosaurs strategically placed to inflict further midnight foot mayhem.
  • I am thankful I can drink coffee from an open cup.
  • I am thankful I can pee alone. With the door open. And still hear the TV.
  • I am thankful I no longer have to know Why, or his brother, How Come, or sister, Can I Have A Cookie (who we think belongs to the Milk Man).
  • I am thankful for white walls that are still white, and beige carpet that is still beige.
  • I am thankful the food I cook is eaten, and my dessert isn’t divided and then divided again.
  • I am thankful road trips don’t end with french fries in my hair, or the contemplation of installing police-car-style plexiglass as a protection from random debris and shrill screams.

When there is nothing to be thankful for, I can be thankful to be a smart-ass. Surely.

Happy Thanksgiving.

5 comments

  1. thinking of you, Happy Thanksgiving xo

    1. Happy Thanksgiving to you too! (or happy thursday if it’s not thanksgiving there…I’m not even sure; do you celebrate thanksgiving?)

      1. thank you! we celebrate Thanksgiving but in Oct. not Nov. I hope you enjoy your holiday. 🙂

  2. I nominated you for a Liebster Blog Award 🙂 Not sure if you participate in these types of things (or if you already have over 200 followers, or if you’ve won one before), but if you want to check it out read my post http://sustainablysingleparenting.wordpress.com/2012/11/23/liebster-blog-award/
    I hope you’ve been well, and Congrats!

speak loudly, donkeys are sleeping

