Ambition addiction

planeIt was a three-day trip to the home office with one day dedicated almost completely to celebrating. I stepped out from behind who I have been hiding behind for the last couple of years and returned, experimentally of course, to the woman I was before Donkey. I stood tall. I spoke with confidence. I remembered me.

Day 1 was travel and work; day 3 was work and travel. Day 2 was work, network, and party. Day 2 was my day. Day 2 was incredibly energizing.

It started with a handshake at the employee recognition lunch. As a new employee, I was pulled away from the table in the social time between salad and entrée to have my picture taken for the company directory. When I returned to the table I noticed my boss sitting one table over talking to the company president. I walked straight to them and introduced myself to the president before I could freak out, change my mind, or realize I had nothing to say but my name. He invited me to sit. We talked about books, lessons in literature, the mechanics of storytelling, and Joseph Campbell. I talked with him again at the holiday party about his philanthropy philosophy and the next morning he called me into his office to talk writing projects.

I learned a great deal about this company, the work we do, and our dedication to community service. As I close in on 90 days, I now have goals that will carry me through the next year and into the future; goals both business and community. For business goals, I plan to rock it: to learn, to question, to understand, and to become a reliable and relied upon source for research and writing. For community goals, I plan to take our large box of former employee’s now-unused cell phones and arrange for them to be donated to Verizon Wireless’ HopeLine program, now and every year, and to bring our philanthropic activities to the Atlanta office by finding, planning, and executing fundraising activities for the causes we support, and trying to add domestic violence to that list.

So by the end of the evening I was smiling bigger than I’ve smiled in years. I’m not kidding. I don’t know what got into me (actually I do – it was a Jager bomb with a Corona chaser).

PictureParty

I let go and lived for almost one whole complete day. I felt like shit the next day, and loved every minute of that too. I am going to continue to live each and every day. I lost my life when I lost my kids, and I am coming back from the dead (apparently just in time for some zombie apocalypse happening this Friday).

26 comments

  1. I’m not going to lie…I’m a little jealous. But, also, I’m very happy for you!

    1. Thank you. I haven’t been that confident in years. It feels good.

  2. i’m so very happy for you! way to go!

    1. Thanks! I’m hoping my personal life starts to feel this good sometime soon too.

      1. wouldn’t that be wonderful!

  3. twindaddy · · Reply

    You’ll want to be drunk for the apocalypse, too.

    1. Yeah, probably. Doesn’t sound like there’s much chance for survival, so I might as well not remember it the next day.

      1. twindaddy · · Reply

        True. I’ll probably be drunk, too.

  4. You’re an amazing woman, beyond just a Donkey. It’s a good feeling to stand on solid ground instead of quicksand, isn’t it? Way to go!

    1. It does feel good. I was beginning to think I was in some kind of Fire Swamp hell hole.

  5. Congrats on finding your confidence once again! It can only get better from here 🙂

    1. I hope I hope I hope. I’m feeling the high of it now, and I hope I can keep going.

  6. A Dog With Fleas · · Reply

    Having gained such of your confidence back is an amazing feeling. Hope it continues!

    1. It is amazing. I hope it continues too. I think it will. I hope I hope I hope!

  7. Happy to read that you got your big smile and confidence back! Congrats!!

    1. Thanks! I can see the light at the end of the tunnel. I’m not there, at the light, yet, but I can see it.

  8. Happy to read you got your big smile and your confidence back!! Congrats to you!!

  9. So happy for you!!!

    1. Thank you. I’m happy to share that I have some happiness. There’s been so much sadness.

  10. Enjoy your new freedom and the Holidays. With that beautiful smile nothing can hold you back.
    God bless.

    1. I hope you have a good holiday season. It’s tough. Your son was stolen from you and you are still fighting the injustice. May 2013 bring you peace and justice, and some massive jail time for that wretched woman who took everything and tried to take more.

  11. […] I faced darkness and lived in it. (8) One journey is crossing paths with another. (9) I wonder if I’ll know, or trust that I know, when I have landed safely on the island of […]

  12. […] with the kids. I had seen it in action and I thought it was really awesome. While waiting for our plane in a very small airport one of my co-workers talked to his 4-year-old son on facetime. He showed […]

  13. […] fundraising activities for the causes we support, and trying to add domestic violence to that list. Ambition Addiction, 18 December […]

  14. […] job, moved to Atlanta, and been to company dinners at country clubs and exclusive restaurants, a Christmas party with an open bar, a Jimmy Buffett concert, domestic violence awareness events, and on road trips to […]

speak loudly, donkeys are sleeping

