RESCUED!! When I did not even know that I needed it!

RESCUED!! When I did not even know that I needed it!
Posted by secretangel

One of the big problems with verbal and emotional abuse is that it is progressive. It happens mildly, jokingly, and infrequently at first and then it increases. It becomes more frequent and more severe, with moments of explosiveness. The explosive phases are followed by honeymoon phases where the abuser is apologetic and loving. This cycle continues and many victims become so accustomed to the verbal and emotional attacks that it sadly becomes acceptable. Their self-esteem gets lower and lower. This is exactly what happened to me…

Years of emotional, verbal, and other abuses led me to not expect any better for my life. I had always hoped for the best—but settled for much less. Even though many family members and friends saw the abuse, “abuse” was an unspoken word. Also, I did not even identify it as abuse. I accepted it as part of married life. I had vowed “for better or worse…for richer or poorer” and I was determined to do everything possible to make my husband happy, despite his abuses which included several adulterous affairs. I believed that marriage was forever. I did not realize that God does not expect you to live in those situations. God does not want you to be abused, and He allows for divorce in cases of adultery. The following scriptures refer to these situations…

“I tell you that anyone who divorces his wife (or her husband), except for sexual immorality, and marries another woman (or man) commits adultery.” (Matthew 19:9 NLT)
“Husbands, love your wives and do not be harsh with them.” (Colossians 3:19 NLT)

God did not make my husband abuse me or commit adultery. However, when my marriage fell apart, God orchestrated my steps as I leaned on Him to put the broken pieces of my heart and my entire life back together. He once spoke to me audibly. He answered my questions and made His Presence known in multiple ways. He told me that He had “rescued me from Egypt.” I then realized, that I did not even know that I was in “Egypt” or even needed “rescuing.” I had accepted my abusive situation…but God did not. God rescued me!!! And, what He did for me, He will do for others…

More of Secret Angel’s story to follow!!! Let Secret Angel know what you think of her story.

IF ANYONE NEEDS PRAYER, EMAIL SECRET ANGEL AT secretangel.ps911@gmail.com

About The Author

Secret AngelThe Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel is being written to reach out to victims of abuse as well as to provide some education to the general public about abuse. As a former victim, Secret Angel represents the many nameless and faceless victims of abuse. No one can understand that feeling of being trapped and that feeling of hopelessness–unless they have lived it. Many people can not understand how this can happen, but rest assured, victims never choose to be abused. They never want to be victims. They never want to live in fear.

2 comments

  1. Thanks for the posting…. Many blessings to you my friend!!!

  2. Reblogged this on The Abuse Expose' with Secret Angel and commented:
    Thanks for sharing my story. My book, The Walking Wounded, will finally be available this month!!!

speak loudly, donkeys are sleeping

